Tag Archives: Discworld Witches Story Arc

Witches Abroad

This is a review of “Witches Abroad” by Terry Pratchett. It is the 12th novel in The Discworld Series and the third novel in the Witches Story Arc. Character arc-wise it follows on from “Wyrd Sisters“.

One of the older witches of the Ramtops had died. Desiderata is not your everyday run-of-the-mill witch either. She was something special. She was a Fairy Godmother.

She’s left Magrat her most prized possession and a note with instructions. It seems she’s chosen her successor, and left her a task.

But neither Granny Weatherwax nor Nanny Ogg are going to let Magrat go off alone. She’s going abroad for goodness sakes. And she doesn’t even know how to use the wand…

So many pumpkins!

And perhaps Granny Weatherwax might know something the others don’t…

So far, this has been my favourite novel in the witches story arc.

It is a wonderfully witty novel about knowing yourself (and the direction you’re headed), travel and friendship. It’s also about stories and how it’s not really in anyone’s best interest to force things to happen a specific way.

Things will unfold as they must.


Tagged , , , , , , ,

Equal Rites

This is a review of “Equal Rites” by Terry Pratchett. Officially it is novel number 3 in The Discworld Series.

It’s hard to know where to begin when reading Terry Pratchett. If you’ve never delved into The Discworld, then there are a number of different ways to go about it. Of course you can read them chronologically, but some recommend starting elsewhere. You see, The Discworld Series consists of many books with many different main characters and they do overlap some of the time. There are widely agreed upon character arcs that chronologically follow specific characters.

This chart is quite helpful, but it doesn’t contain some of the more recently published novels.

When I first began reading Terry Pratchett’s novels, I just picked up any Discworld novel I could find and read it, not worrying about chronology etc. But now there are some books I have missed out on, and others I have read out of their chronological context…I’d like to read them in some kind of order, so this time I have started with the Witches Story Arc.

“Equal Rites” is the first Discworld novel in the Witches Story Arc.

A newborn baby is gifted with a wizard’s staff and an aptitude for magic from a dying wizard. Esk was meant to be the eighth son of an eighth son. (This is important in wizarding tradition). But Esk is a girl.

Everyone knows that girls can’t be wizards…

Except that’s what Esk wants to be (needs to be) more than anything.

Granny Weatherwax, local witch, tries to teach Esk the finer points of being a witch, but is forced to admit that Esk probably needs to be taught differently….

I love Terry Pratchett’s work. He is witty, clever, funny and deep. There are sentences of his in this book that I just adore and have to read them again just for kicks. He’s brilliant.


Tagged , , , , ,