Ghost Town

This is a review of “Ghost Town” by Rachel Caine. It is book 9 in the Morganville Vampires Series. It follows on from “Kiss of Death“.

As this book is a part of a series, the following review may reveal some details of the previous novel/s. Do not read if you intend to read this series in the future and don’t want to know of any potential plot spoilers.

Claire, Eve, Michael and Shane are back to the daily grind of life in Morganville. For Claire this means class, dates (and other fun) with Shane and helping Myrnin in the lab. Which is as bizarre as ever. Myrnin is rebuilding the machine that keeps Morganville functioning the way Morganville does. The problem is, that without Ada (well to be specific, Ada’s brain), the machine is not functioning as it should. The barriers to stop people leaving aren’t functioning, memory wipes aren’t being done to those who leave Morganville, and the portals aren’t working. It’s up to Claire to help Myrnin fix the machine. She’s got to use her brain, or Myrnin might just insert it where Ada’s used to be.

After a spot of bother involving Claire, her friends, some rogue vamps and some stakes, Claire is forced to work day and night on the machine as punishment. She and Myrnin believe they have now fixed it. But the townsfolk of Morganville have begun to act very strangely. And Claire just knows that it is not a coincidence. People are forgetting, with disastrous consequences. Claire’s got to make things right before she forgets how.

I really enjoyed this Morganville novel. The storyline was interesting, and eerie in parts. It was suspenseful and compelled me to keep on reading. Parts were a little heart-wrenching, but of course it was also humorous and entertaining, being a Rachel Caine novel. I really enjoyed Amelie and Myrnin getting their creep on. Wickedly spooky.

Favourite lines/quotes:
“Don’t do drugs. I feel I ought to say that.”

“Amelie was right after all: you’re too stupid to be allowed to live.”


Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Ghost Town

  1. […] This is a review of “Bite Club” by Rachel Caine. It is book 10 in the Morganville Vampires Series. It follows on from “Ghost Town“. […]

  2. […] A Morganville Vampires short story that takes place between “Fade Out ” and “Kiss of Death“. It was included in my copy of “Ghost Town“. […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: