Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

This is a review of “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince” by J.K. Rowling. It is the sixth book in the Harry Potter Series and follows on from “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix“.

Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry for his sixth year. He is still raw over the events that occurred at the Ministry the year before, and he’s unsure if he will ever get over it.

He is taken from Privet Drive this year by Dumbledore himself. On the way to The Burrow, they stop over to employ the services of a teacher. He is a retired Hogwarts employee, but Hogwarts is in need of a new staff member, and Dumbledore wants Horace Slughorn for the job. Exactly why, Harry does not yet know, but Dumbledore has his reasons.

Harry spends the remainder of his holidays with the Weasley family and Hermione and then it’s back to school for everyone, and this year Harry is Quidditch captain for Gryffindor.

The school year passes. Harry gets a couple of detentions with his Hogwarts nemesis Professor Snape, attends a few “Slug Club” meetings with Professor Slughorn and other students and attends some very intriguing lessons with Professor Dumbledore himself. Romance is in the air this year at Hogwarts too. And Harry finds himself suffering from an awkward crush, not to mention developments in Ron and Hermione’s love lives.

This book reveals a lot more about Lord Voldemort and his past as Tom Riddle. By delving into the past, Dumbledore and Harry find themselves better equipped to deal with Voldemort in the future.

This book is intriguing, chilling, funny, warming and terribly sad. It is one of my favourites in the series, and one I love to re-read.

I first read this book when I was in high school, I purchased it the day after its release. I had almost finished it a few days later, when my friends, having listened to a radio program dedicated to reading the Harry Potter novel and giving a review and giving away spoilers, decided to ruin the ending for me. I was livid. Never have I been so upset before. I was devastated. Considering I was only about ten pages away from the event they spoiled, it was a very low blow. I don’t think I spoke to them for a while.

I don’t think I ever got over it fully. Imagine loving something so much, and then having it ruined. And not because you were too slow at reading, but because your friends had listened to someone who got paid to lock themself in a room to read the book cover to cover and then spoil it for everyone on air, and then your friends thought you’d see the funny side if they playfully yelled out what they knew? Believe me. I would have loved to cloister myself away until the book was read. But it was impossible. I had school to attend.

Definitely not over that spoiler. I don’t think I’ll ever forget that one.

And this was by far, the movie I got most frustrated with when I went to see it at the cinema. What the heck is that scene at the train station? And the house burning? Erm :/ was not very happy.

But I did like Jim Broadbent’s portrayal of Slughorn. And Jessie Cave as Lavender Brown is very entertaining.

20121027-221945.jpg

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

  1. […] This is a review of “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows” by J. K. Rowling. It is the 7th and final novel in the Harry Potter series. It follows on from “Harry Potter and the Half-blood Prince“. […]

Leave a Reply

