The Rook

This is a review of “The Rook” by Daniel O’Malley.

This book was recommended by Charlaine Harris, not only on her blog and on The Today Show, but also during her Q&A session and signing that I attended as a part of her Australian “Deadlocked” tour. So I thought I would give it a read.

Myfanwy Thomas wakes up in the rain surrounded by dead bodies. All of whom seem to be wearing gloves. Even more bizzare, she remembers nothing. And I don’t just mean nothing about the attack. Nothing at all. She’s like a newborn.

She finds a letter in her pocket. It’s from herself. It begins: “The body you are wearing used to be mine.
She realises that in order to live (and to discover who and what she was) she must read the letters from herself and follow their instructions.

She quickly discovers that she is a member of a secret organization that protects Britain from dangerous supernatural forces. The organization is called The Chequy, and she is a member of its ruling court, a Rook.

She also discovers that her body holds a powerful ability that is quite out of the ordinary. She must impersonate herself to find out who has a vendetta against her. But life in The Chequy is far from normal…

Full of interesting, weird and creepy characters, “The Rook” is a humorous, mysterious, addictive novel.

I loved it! It’s awesome. It reminded me of X-men, Artemis Fowl, Men In Black, The Bourne Identity and the SWAT team excerpts even reminded me a little of Anita Blake.

I had decided to take a little break before I begin the next character arc in The Discworld Series. (It’s not that I am sick of Pratchett, I just don’t want to finish them all too quickly, because I enjoy them so much). I am glad I did.

I can’t wait until Daniel O’Malley writes more. “The Rook” is brilliant. For a debut novel it’s bloody fantastic.

20120820-221659.jpg

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

