Equal Rites

This is a review of “Equal Rites” by Terry Pratchett. Officially it is novel number 3 in The Discworld Series.

It’s hard to know where to begin when reading Terry Pratchett. If you’ve never delved into The Discworld, then there are a number of different ways to go about it. Of course you can read them chronologically, but some recommend starting elsewhere. You see, The Discworld Series consists of many books with many different main characters and they do overlap some of the time. There are widely agreed upon character arcs that chronologically follow specific characters.

This chart is quite helpful, but it doesn’t contain some of the more recently published novels.

When I first began reading Terry Pratchett’s novels, I just picked up any Discworld novel I could find and read it, not worrying about chronology etc. But now there are some books I have missed out on, and others I have read out of their chronological context…I’d like to read them in some kind of order, so this time I have started with the Witches Story Arc.

“Equal Rites” is the first Discworld novel in the Witches Story Arc.

A newborn baby is gifted with a wizard’s staff and an aptitude for magic from a dying wizard. Esk was meant to be the eighth son of an eighth son. (This is important in wizarding tradition). But Esk is a girl.

Everyone knows that girls can’t be wizards…

Except that’s what Esk wants to be (needs to be) more than anything.

Granny Weatherwax, local witch, tries to teach Esk the finer points of being a witch, but is forced to admit that Esk probably needs to be taught differently….

I love Terry Pratchett’s work. He is witty, clever, funny and deep. There are sentences of his in this book that I just adore and have to read them again just for kicks. He’s brilliant.


Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Equal Rites

  1. Claire Ady says:

    ah, I do love Terry Pratchett, and I think the witches were my favourites. I like the chart you mentioned.

  2. […] This is a review of “Wyrd Sisters” by Terry Pratchett. It is the 6th novel in The Discworld Series and the second novel in the Witches Story Arc. Technically it follows “Pyramids” which is the 5th Discworld novel, but character-arc wise it follows “Equal Rites“. […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: