This is a review of “Lothaire” by Kresley Cole. It is the 10th novel (and the most recent one) in The Immortals After Dark Series. It follows on from “Dreams of a Dark Warrior“.

Lothaire, the Enemy of Old prides himself on being the most evil vampire in The Lore. He is cunning and exacting and won’t do anything for free. If he does anything for you, expect to go in his ledger of debts. Lothaire has no friends, plenty of enemies and his motto is: “If you’re not with me, then you’re against me”.

Elizabeth Pierce is a mortal. But she’s a mortal with a twist. Ellie plays host to an evil vampiric goddess (think The Exorcist) named Saroya. Saroya loves nothing more than killing and carnage, while Ellie just wants to go to college and help look after her family. Poor lovable Ellie is punished for Saroya’s crimes (countless murdered men) and is sent to prison where she is on death row.

Lothaire believes that Saroya is his mate, his Bride and rescues Ellie (the host, the body) from lethal injection. While Ellie is trapped (again…sigh) in a grand New York apartment, Saroya and Lothaire work on their plan to force Ellie’s soul from her body, leaving it free to be taken over by Saroya. But could the lowly mortal Ellie actually be Lothaire’s intended?

What choice does Ellie have but to try and seduce Lothaire? She has no other hope of survival. And who is the better woman for Lothaire? Will Saroya ever let Ellie be free again? And will poor Ellie ever escape imprisonment?

A very good book! I must say, Kresely Cole’s books just keep getting better and better as The Immortals After Dark Series progresses. This book is full of heart wrenching prose, and Ellie is a heroine that every girl can identify with. Full of laughs and poignancy this really is a well-rounded book. I found it to be un-put-downable, which was good because I had insomnia last night and didn’t sleep until around 5am. Loved it!


Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Lothaire

  1. […] This is a review of “Shadow’s Claim” by Kresley Cole. It is the first novel in the Immortals After Dark offshoot series; The Dacians: Realm of Blood and Mist. However it still fits in nicely with the Immortals After Dark Series, as novel number 11 (not counting the two novellas in the series), following on from “Lothaire“. […]

  2. […] which makes it a hard one to place) in The Immortals After Dark Series. It follows on from “Lothaire” (and was published after The Dacians: Realm of Blood and Mist (offshoot IAD Series) novel […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: